Committee of Six Minutes of Monday, December 4, 2006

The eighteenth meeting of the Committee of Six for the academic year 2006–2007 was called to order by the President in his office at 3:30 P.M. on Monday, December 4, 2006. Present were Professors George, Hilborn, O'Hara, Parker, Schneider, and Woglom, Dean Call, President Marx, and Assistant Dean Tobin, Recorder.

The President began the meeting by presenting the Committee with several choices of lecture topics proposed by a speaker who is planning to speak at the College; the members expressed their views on the matter.

The Dean next informed the Committee that the special election for the new member of the Committee of Six, who will join the Committee this spring, is going well. He noted that the online election may have resulted in increased participation, which was at record highs for both rounds of voting that have been completed. Professor George asked the Dean how many colleagues voted in the first two rounds. Dean Call reported that 134 colleagues participated in round one and 142 participated in round two. The results of round three would be available this week, the Dean said.

Dean Call also informed the members that the Committee on Educational Policy (CEP) has told him that the CEP no longer plans to offer an amendment to the enhanced charge to the committee at the faculty meeting on December 5.

The Committee turned to personnel matters.

At the conclusion of that discussion at 4:45, Marian Matheson, Director of Institutional Research, joined the meeting and reviewed with the members the presentation that she and Tom Parker, Dean of Admission and Financial Aid, would give to the Faculty at the December 5 faculty meeting.

The meeting adjourned at 6:00 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Gregory S. Call
Dean of the Faculty