Amended January 29, 2007

Committee of Six Minutes of Wednesday, December 20, 2006

The twenty-second meeting of the Committee of Six for the academic year 2006–2007 was called to order by the President in his office at 5:00 P.M. on Wednesday, December 20, 2006. Present were Professors George, Hilborn, Parker, Schneider, and Woglom, Dean Call, President Marx, and Assistant Dean Tobin, Recorder. Professor O'Hara was absent by prior arrangement. The minutes of December 15 and December 18 were approved.

The Dean informed the members that the Memorial Minute Committee for Benjamin McCabe, Parmly Billings Professor of Physical Education, Emeritus, who died on September 13, has been finalized. Bill Thurston (Chair), Professor of Physical Education; Peter Gooding, Professor of Physical Education; and Jack Arena, Senior Coach, will serve on the committee.

The members turned to personnel matters.

On behalf of the Committee and the College, the Dean expressed best wishes and gratitude to Professor Hilborn, presenting him with a gift and thanking him for his fine service to Amherst. The President and the members joined Dean Call in wishing Professor Hilborn well.

The meeting adjourned at 6:20 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Gregory S. Call Dean of the Faculty