The ninth meeting of the Committee of Six for the academic year 2019–2020 was called to order by President Martin in the president's office at 2:30 P.M. on Wednesday, November 11, 2019. Present, in addition to the president, were Professors Basu, Brooks, Goutte, Horton, Schmalzbauer, and Sims; Provost and Dean of the Faculty Epstein; and Associate Provost Tobin, recorder.

Under "Questions from Committee Members," Professor Brooks, on behalf of a number of colleagues, asked about the plans for and status of intensive-writing courses at the college, now that Ben Lieber (who is currently on leave and who will retire in 2020–2021) and Michèle Barale (who is now retired) are no longer teaching these courses. Provost Epstein informed the members that she has written a memo to the Committee on Educational Policy (CEP) about her concerns surrounding staffing this program, and that plans call for the CEP to discuss the issue at its next meeting. In response to the committee's question about the process that is used to identify students who should take intensive-writing courses, the provost said that the practice is that all faculty teaching first-year seminars are asked to identify students who would benefit from intensive-writing courses and to provide the names to Austin Sarat, associate provost and associate dean of the faculty. He then writes to the students and their advisors about the recommendation, but it is up to the students and their advisors to follow up, and there is no requirement that the students take an intensive-writing course. The members noted the Committee of Six's plans to discuss a letter from Professor Douglas, which was sent to the committee last spring, with some recommendations surrounding writing-intensive courses. Professor Horton suggested that the letter be forwarded to the CEP ahead of that committee's discussion, and Provost Epstein said that she would be happy to provide the CEP with the document. The remainder of the meeting was devoted to personnel matters.

The meeting adjourned at 5:30 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Catherine Epstein Provost and Dean of the Faculty