The twenty-third meeting of the Committee of Six for the academic year 2020–2021 was called to order by President Martin via Zoom at 12:00 P.M. on Friday, January 29, 2021. Present, in addition to the president, were Professors del Moral, Kingston, Leise, Manion, Trapani, and Umphrey; Provost and Dean of the Faculty Epstein; and Associate Provost Tobin, recorder.

Turning first to the schedule for faculty meetings this spring, the committee agreed that the following dates should be held for possible faculty meetings: February 16, March 2, March 16, April 6, April 20, May 4, May 18, and June 8 (9:00 A.M.). The members then considered several committee assignments, after which they turned to a personnel matter.

The committee next reviewed a proposal from Professor Harper, director of the Center for Humanistic Inquiry (CHI), to deactivate the Folger Undergraduate Fellowships Committee. That committee's main function is to select students to participate in the Folger Undergraduate Fellowship program. Professor Harper has recommended, for reasons described in his proposal, that the faculty members of the CHI's advisory board serve on the Folger committee, rather than having the Committee of Six appoint faculty to the body. Professor Umphrey, who previously served as director of the CHI and worked with the Folger committee in this capacity, expressed support for the proposal. The other members concurred, and it was agreed that the Folger Undergraduate Fellowships Committee should be deactivated. The members next agreed to nominate colleagues to serve on a memorial minute committee for Dean of the Faculty Emerita Mary Catherine Bateson.

Under "Questions from Committee Members," Professor Umphrey asked how college bicentennial events are progressing this spring, given the challenges of the pandemic. President Martin said that a number of virtual events are taking place, and that the renewal of the sanctuary trails system is also under way. The president noted that bicentennial events will continue throughout the 2021–2022 year, when it is hoped that some events can take place in person.

Anticipating the upcoming election for next year's Committee of Six, the members drew straws virtually to determine who would leave the committee at the end of this academic year. Since all current Committee of Six members are in their first year on the committee, and none is going on leave next year, three members must leave the committee at the end of this academic year, in accordance with the *Faculty Handbook* (IV.,S., 1., a.), where the following is noted: "At least three of the members of the Committee of Six are elected in the spring of each year by direct faculty ballot." The process of drawing straws will result in Professors del Moral, Kingston, and Trapani leaving the committee on June 30, 2021. The remainder of the meeting was devoted to personnel matters.

The meeting adjourned at 1:30 P.M.

Respectfully submitted,

Catherine Epstein
Provost and Dean of the Faculty